Reformed Grits


The Diet of (Breastfeeding) Champions
December 15, 2006, 10:56 am
Filed under: Family, Food and Drink, Life

Baby Bee and I went for her 6 month check up yesterday and I got a real startle.  Now, I’m no idiot (contrary to popular belief)– I knew she was tiny and that she didn’t nurse a lot, but I have nursed six babies and thought I had it all figured out.  Yesterday, however, you could have knocked me over with a feather.  Baby Bee had only gained ONE ounce in 2 months.   I felt so horrible!!!  I’m nursing her every 3 hours and at least once in the night too.  But let me back up.

When I got there I asked if she could be weighed before and after she ate so I could see how much she was getting.  3 1/2 ounces.  At 6 months, it’s not enough but granted she is a tiny thing so she won’t eat as much as my giant Sugie did.  (She weighed 9 lbs 14 oz at birth!)  The ped, who I LOVE and is usually really "hands-off" tells me that she must go directly to bottles and that I could pump and give her that but she is getting too tired eating what’s not really there so we have to give it to her more easily.  Basically, a death-sentence for nursing.  I was devasted.  She is "The Baby."  This is IT.  I don’t get another chance unless… well, you know.  Anyhow, so I told him I was leaving his office and going directly to the Lactation Consultant’s office at my hospital which he blessed and I found out later he even called them to tell them I was coming. 

So we get there and I spill the story to Lorraine (who has been my LC since JoJo was born 11+ years ago.)  And the thing I love about her is that when I told her what the ped said about the bottles she rolled her eyes.  I actually SAW her do that in my mind when the ped said it to me originally.  I had a picture in my mind of her doing that.  Isn’t that funny?  Anyhow, I spent an hour with her and she watched Bee spit up and spit up and break wind and on and on.  She said from her observations, it wasn’t the quantity of milk she was worried about.  It was the quality.  She said the urping was a problem but that my job was to enrich my milk.  That she was getting SKIM milk from me.  Did you know I can make skim milk?  She said also I should be feeding her solids 3 times a day (wah!  But I’m too LAZY to do all that!)  and that I have to hand-express milk before I nurse her to get rid of the skim and bring down the half and half.  (So to speak of course!)  I also have orders in writing to REST and drink water.  (Bleah.) 

But the cool thing is this… she put me on a "farm girl diet."  Those were her words. 
"You have to eat like a farm girl."  She said a BIG breakfast of bacon, pancakes, eggs.  Blue Bell ice cream EVERYDAY.  (More than once would be great, but at LEAST once a day!  And YES I got it in writing!)  Beer.  Yes beer.  Go figure.  Big amounts of good food.  Can you believe I have permission orders to eat and drink all this?  Granted, it’s not permission to eat a batch of cookie dough (well, maybe if it was eggless and had oatmeal in it, giggle, snort) but to eat LOTS of RICH foods!  I died and gone to heaven, yall!  Mr. Grits is SOOo jealous!  He told me this morning NO excuses I was to get off the couch and go make myself some breakfast and have a beer with it.  I KNOW!  At 9 AM!  So I had a whole grain english muffin, a scrambled egg, and FOUR slices of fat-drippin’ bacon yall!  WITH HALF A BEER!  heehee.  I am going to the kids’ Christmas parties later and I hope I don’t smell like a wine-o! 

We are going to turn baby Bee in to a little piggy yet!  I have decided I LOVE breastfeeding after all!!  It’s good to be me. 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

(((((((((Kim))))))))))

Good LC you have there!!! 🙂

Comment by Heather

If I lived closer I would come over and have a beer with you!! Have fun eating all that good food!!

Comment by Jennifer Wilson

I am going to remember this post and use it as my excuse when this next little one is born!!! Enjoy all that yummy icecream!!

Comment by penny

OK…I will need your LC’s name and address on my next go around!
This actually makes me want to get pregnant! A beer a day keeps the doctor away! He! He!

Comment by Andrea

I’m coming to your house for breakfast!!

Comment by Kristi




Leave a Reply

