Reformed Grits


Moo
December 27, 2006, 1:51 pm
Filed under: Faith, Family, Life

The grass is always greener, is it not?  Or is it not just a kind way of saying, "WAHH!  I’m never satisfied!!!"  THAT part is true.  What we have, we rarely fully appreciate.  (Our salvation, our fertility, our family, the love of a good man, etc…)  When we have what we do not want by nature we are never thankful.  When it’s taken away we are sometimes more clearly able to see the blessings of a "thorn."  So then we go from discontent with a blessing or gift to discontent because it has been removed or taken away.  I know I’m being vague but I just want to remind myself that I am to be content in all stations of life, including submission to my beloved husband, nursing mother of a tiny girl, mother of 6, homemaker, bookkeeper, etc.  If any of these situations were removed or taken away in my life, I would be devastated– so why should I not be grateful and content today when they are IN my life? 

Reminds me of a poem that a dear friend from church shared at our Women’s Retreat a while back:

I stood, a mendicant of God, before His royal throne and begged Him for one priceless gift, which I could call my own.  I took the gift from out His hand, but as I would depart I cried, "But Lord, this is a thorn, and it has pierced my heart.  This is a strange and hurtful gift which Thou hast given me."  He said, "My child, I give good gifts.  I gave My best to thee."  I took it home.  And though at first the cruel thorn hurt sore, as long years passed I learned at last to love it more and more.  I learned He never gives a thorn without this added grace:  He takes the thorn to pin aside the veil which hides His face.  — Anonymous

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hmmm…are you secretly talking to ME??? =) Gratitude is so powerful, isn’t it? I do long for a different place in life right now, but I AM thankful that I know God has a plan for me, and I am thankful for all the things He is teaching me before I’m a mom. I’m sure my children will be better off for it!

Comment by Kel

Don’t I know it.

Thank you, my friend, for this well-timed reminder.

Comment by Meg

You are soooo right! The very things I most often complain about would leave me devastated if they were taken away. Our sweet friend, Nancy, told me once that the first thing she prays each day when waking up is, “Thank you Lord for this day, help me to rejoice and be glad in it.”
I think if I would pray that all day, I would be more thankful!

Comment by penny

I love this poem and still remember her reciting it. I think of it often. Thanks for the reminder to be thankful in everything our loving Heavenly Father gives us.

Comment by Caroline

😦 i remember that!!

Comment by katester

What a great post! Strangely, at this time I am very content, but you know I am always wondering in the back of my head about little thorns that are on the way! Thankfully, we have my Jesus to get us through His plans!

Comment by Andrea




Leave a Reply

