Reformed Grits


Here I am to worship
January 21, 2007, 5:38 pm
Filed under: Faith

I have what generations of Southern mamas before me have referred to as "the creepin’ crud."  This is our way of saying what I could pay a $20 to hear in technical terms from my doctor.  "It’s a virus."  Sore throat, congestion, and a cough that sounds like that dog, Snotz, under the table in "Christmas Vacation."  (You remember, "He’s just coughin’ on a bone he dug outta the trash or somethin’…")  This reason, coupled with the fact that Jojo has it too and Mr. Grits was leading worship at early and late services we stayed home from church this morning, which I don’t like to do.  But it was the right thing to do, especially since I had nursery duty with the babies.  You are welcome for not spreading my cooties to your precious little ones. 

So I did what I always like to do when I have to miss… I watched the live webcast on our church’s website.  Our pastor gave what-for to all of us in hearing range on the subject of worship through giving… I hope he stomped on many toes in our congregaton just as we had ours stomped on by him years ago when another time he preached on this subject.  He didn’t pull punches on it but faithfully preached the Word.  Even though it was painful, it was a subject that Mr. Grits and I had to submit to and have been blessed many-fold for our obedience.   We always have said that every time we were able to substantially increase our worship through giving we were blessed… with another child.  Now I’m not saying if you are infertile you should increase your giving–  We’ve been blessed in a plethora of ways.  We have felt blessing financially… in our relationship with each other and others… we have been blessed through a season of suffering…  etc., etc. 

Making a commitment to give IS painful at first.  All you can think about is, "That’s a car payment!"  or "That would sure make a nice vacation!" but after a while you will reap the benefits.  I don’t necessarily mean you are going to get mysterious checks in the mail that make all your worldly dreams come true.  I suppose what I mean is that your heart will change.  We reap spiritual blessing that knows no bounds.   We will see Him meet our needs materially, spiritually, emotionally, and every-which-way when we take that step of faith to trust Him with our finances.  This is how we worship him… through active acts of faith that show we trust Him.  He glorifies and magnifies Himself through our cheerful, sacrificial gifts that result in the spreading of His gospel, the work of His Kingdom, and boundless fruit in our hearts and lives. 

"I will not sacrifice to the Lord my God burnt offerings that cost me nothing." (2 Samuel 24:24)

What is the chief end of man?  (What is the reason for man’s being?)

To glorify God and enjoy Him forever.  Westminister Catechism Question 1

             

      

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hubby and I both said that we were thankful that our toes were protected. I was home too with my sleeping baby. I watched it on the web.

If you are right before the Lord and you hear a sermon like that, it makes you want to stand up, pumping your fist in the air, and yell “Preach IT PREACHER”. Oh yea, I DID do that…but I was in my kitchen watching it on my laptop.

Comment by Caroline

Yes, it was a great message! John and I have been praying that God will “move in the peoples’ hearts” the way He did in Ezra when He moved their hearts to contribute money and time to rebuild the temple. I also liked the way Jeff said it is such an opportunity to give to God’s work. It’s a gracious plan God has given us to be a part of His work!

Comment by penny

I was out of town and computerless, but I am going to have to listen to the sermon too, because my Penn came home and said that he uped our pledge card this year to more than we had talked about last week!! I do love it when my hubby submits to his Heavenly Father! 🙂

Comment by Andrea




Leave a Reply

