Reformed Grits


Party Pooper
March 4, 2007, 5:17 pm
Filed under: Weblogs

If you visit many blogs in Bloggityville you will see lots of banners and buttons for a certain "blog party" going on for the next few days.  I have been seeing these for a few weeks now building up to an event going on right now that I am sure many are enjoying and just having a great time. 

I, however, am boycotting. 

Not because I have issues with the idea.  Not because I think it’s bad or wrong.  I just don’t need that kind of pressure or guilt.  It’s the same reason I don’t do scrapbooking.  I don’t need the pressure and guilt.  On a daily basis, keeping my kitchen half-way sanitary, scaling laundry mountain, doing the baby-doings, keeping up with the kids school, going to soccer practice across town twice a week, reading the South Beach Diet Heart Plan (again, this time for Mr. Grits’ cholesterol) and working through Financial Peace, being the wife of an amazing (ok, and hot) man who is a seminary student, a soccer coach, an elder, a mentor, and oh yeah by the way also has a full-time job, working part-time for the kids’ school, and oh yeah being a mom to six children has left me with VERY little time anymore to blog, much less visit the 50 kijillion amazing blogs out there that I’d love to read. 

I don’t have that much time for just fun at this point in my life, and I have really found that the computer is a MAJOR time-zapper.  That is why I have been so short on blogs lately.  I’d love to do more but I just am barely keeping up with all I HAVE to do.  In fact, quite often I feel like I’m dog-paddling in the middle of the Pacific and help is no-where to be found.  I’m not complaining and I really don’t mean to sound like I am whining (ok, even though I am).  I am thankful beyond words for my family and our very-full lives.  It’s just that I am having to budget a lot of things lately– money and time mostly and as always, energy. 

So to quote Franc from "Father of the Bride:"

"Every party has a pooper,

That’s why we invited you,

The party pooper!!!!!!!!!"

So enjoy the party.  I’m afraid I have to wash my hair.  No, really.  It’s been a while. 

 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I don’t think you’re a party pooper! Why don’t you go private too?? Maybe that will take some of the guilt off!

Comment by Andrea

Your post explains why I do not in fact have a blog. I would spend more time blogging about my life than living it.

Keep up the good fight!

Comment by Polly

I totally resemble this blog. 🙂

Comment by Caroline

I’m confused about the certain blog party, I haven’t heard of it. However, we should never have to feel guilty about our blogs! Just look at mine, I go long periods of time without blogging. However, I do enjoy reading yours when you do blog!!!!
And, I really need someone to wean me off my computer, because you are sooooo right, it’s a huge time zapper!!! (And, I’m totally addicted!)

Comment by penny




Leave a Reply

