Reformed Grits


Weepy
March 19, 2007, 7:48 pm
Filed under: Life

I really don’t have anything profound to say, and to be honest I’m really to tired and distracted to write much lately.  I am not sure what in my life is actually overwhelming me right now, but I am.   

Mr. Grits came home today after making an appointment and pre-paying for our dog of 14 years to be put to sleep on Saturday.  She is old, and can not walk well (limps heavily), she keeps losing her fur in chunks then scratches the sites until they bleed.  She is, for the most part, incontinent yet rarely gets up off her mattress.  She is mostly deaf and blind, and she detests being outside so living in the yard is not an option.   She has growths all over her body too.  I know, nasty.  But she was a cute little puppy once who chased me down the road of a not-so-nice neighborhood when we were newly married and in college.  We had a rabbit at the time, but Maggie, our puppy, was our first "baby."  She slept with us up until just before Jojo was born.  Then she slept at the foot of our bed, on Mr. Grits’ side until frequent diarrhea ended that.   She hates being ouside, like I said, and with her horrible skin allergies it wasn’t an option anyhow.  (Even when she was outside she would stand on a deck or driveway until she needed to do her business, would step in the grass to do it, then go right back.)  In the basement we just feel like we are imprisioning her.  It is just pitiful, and the kids don’t even want to touch her anymore due to the nastiness.  It’ just time, but it makes me feel so sad and guilty. 

And the weird thing, but out of the blue someone who has a baby the same age John Knox would have been, mentioned their baby reached a milestone this week and I don’t know why but I just started tearing up and getting all cry-baby.   What is wrong with me?  I’m such a goober! 

Kids are home for spring break and today we went to the park with their cousins.  We had a good time, and now JD is spending the night with a friend. 

It continues to be insanely busy around here.  I just wanna sleep.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh, you make me want to weep with you! I’ll be praying for you and your family as you say goodbye to your dog. I’ll also pray you get some good sleep this week and have a fun time with the kids on spring break! 🙂

Comment by penny

You are NOT a goober! You know it’s natural to mourn that loss. Don’t be so hard on yourself. As for your precious dog, she is a member of your family. Just like a child because she was there before your children were. It is sad…I’ll be praying for all of you.

Comment by Kristi

I am sorry I am reading this so late. I have been in BR.

I hope you are feeling better by now!

Comment by Andrea




Leave a Reply

