Reformed Grits


Well it was fun while it lasted
April 29, 2007, 8:59 pm
Filed under: Sports

We are home after a long, sunny, exhausting weekend.  This morning we woke after getting a decent night’s sleep, praise be, at 5:(shudder)30.  We showered, dressed, and headed for the breakfast at the hotel (which was a Hampton Inn, by the by.) 

Our first game was at 7:30 and we won!  The boys played great and the other kids (mine, I mean) really enjoyed playing with their friends who have brothers on the team. 

After winning that game, we found out that for our semi-final game we would be playing our club’s gold team.  In U12 soccer, there are tryouts in June and the boys are ranked according to one man’s opinion.  (But I’m not bitter, LOL)  The top 12 go to the "gold" team and the next 12 are on the "blue" team, etc and so forth.  My boy was #13 according to this man.  (But I’m not bitter.)  These two teams practice together for the whole year but play separate games.  They are a merry group of boys and are a whole lotta fun and get very close over the year.  So when they heard they were playing each other in a tournament you can imagine the trash-talk!  Who cared who won the tournament?  They just wanted to win THIS game!  I could go on all day about this but I will spare you… we scored first and held them forever.  Before half-time the other team put a corner kick in the goal and it was tied 1-1 at the half.  Both teams left it all on the field.  They really played their guts out.  And to be honest this was the first time in a couple years I actually saw Jojo smiling while he was playing.  In the end, literally the last 10 seconds of the match, the other team hit in another corner kick and won 2-1.  Bleah.  Did I mention I hate losing?  Well, it was a fun game to watch and it was good to see the boys having fun AND I knew they played THEIR BEST.  🙂

Long story short, we packed up, ate lunch, then came back to watch the championship game.  They lost in PK’s which stank.  I hate PK games.  (That’d be Penalty Kicks for all you non-soccer folk.)

So now we are home and I am exhausted, sunburned, and stinky.  I’m covered up in laundry, Mr. Grits is finishing his 22 page paper for seminary due tomorrow, I have to do school’s bookkeeping reports to email out, and I NEED a shower. 

Oh and to top it all off, I lost my CUTE diaper bag I made for Bee there!  WAH!  My big one with her name monogrammed on it!  AND I think it had Poo’s Webkin in there as well as Sugie’s asthma medicine!  I don’t know where I lost it but I’m callin’ their mall tomorrow since we visited there.

Now, I’m off to have a shower because I wanna be in bed before 9:30 tonight! 

NO BLOGGING from me tomorrow.  I’m commiting to my house.  😀 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Yay! I am glad y’all are home in one piece! Sounds like a great family weekend.
Way to go Jo on the whole soccer season. When does it start up again?
BTW..were the Keelers there?

Comment by Andrea

oops, I always thought PK stood for “pastor’s kid.”

Comment by Meg




Leave a Reply

