Reformed Grits


Just like riding a bike
May 30, 2007, 9:51 pm
Filed under: Family, What's she up to now?

Today after Mr. Grits got home he was piddlin’ around in the yard with some man-stuff and a couple of the kids were riding their bikes in the driveway.  I haven’t ridden a bike in years, so I thought the kids would get a kick out of me tearing out of the garage on Sister’s bicycle.  I mean, hey, you don’t forget how to ride a bike!  So we are out there having a good time and I get tired of going in circles (the top of our driveway is flat but going towards the street is downhill) so I head down the driveway and think to myself, "I’ll make a quick little U-ey here and head back up the driveway."  Yeah, um, I forget bikes don’t corner quite like cars do.   And I also forgot that it’s helpful to apply a brake to slow down.  As I’m making a 180 degree turn.  On a hill.  So you guessed it, I went flying in to the neighbor’s side yard and crashed, practically head over handlebars.  I screamed, and then started laughing so hard (through my pain!) that Pooh came flying around yelling, "Mommy!  Mommy!  ARE YOU OK??  MOMMY!"   Mr. Grits came flying around too (unfortunately for him, he missed the spectical of my hiney flying through the air) and said, "KIM.  GET OFF THE BIKES NOW.  NO MORE BIKES.  PUT IT AWAY!" 

Y’all, I really can laugh at myself but I ’bout split myself on that one!  I was SO glad that no one else was heading down the street at that time or I’m sure they would have wrecked laughing hysterically at this 34 year old woman crashing a 10 year old’s pink bike. 

Don’t worry– I’m fine.  Nothing seriously injured but my ego.   

Yerp.  It’s official.  "Just like riding a bike" has taken on new meaning for me! 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Too funny…wish I could have seen it!! I did the same thing last week on vacation…here’s a 38 year old woman flying off a BRIDGE no less! Pride is a bad thing anyway.

Comment by Kristi

OMGOSH!!!! ROFLOLOLOLOL!!! That is stinkin’ hilarious! My mental picture is funny enough…

Comment by Gayle

That is WAY TOO FUNNY! I wish Mr. Grits and I could have seen it in real time!
I hope you are not sore tomorrow! 😦

Comment by Andrea

OK, I can’t comment about the bike story because I’m too distracted by the fact that you are 34!!! Why did I think you were my age? (No offense, I’m 36 (but very young at heart)and feel like I’m surrounded by 20 somethings all the time).Seriously, am I the OLDEST person I know????

Comment by Wendy




Leave a Reply

