Reformed Grits


Blah
August 15, 2007, 12:23 pm
Filed under: Faith, Family, Life

I started this post Monday night.  I finished it Tuesday and wondered why no one commented.  Then I realized… I saved it to draft.  After reading it, you won’t really wonder why I’m not surprised…

Ok, so my kids start school tomorrow.  I will have a child in each 7th, 6th, 3rd, and 1st grades as well as 4K.  It is unfathomable to me.  The younger ones have now gone to bed with their little backpacks and at least the major parts of their uniforms by their beds (in a heap, I believe), and my older ones are in their (respective) showers getting ready for their big days too. 
Let me briefly describe how this day has looked in the past.  The night before school starts (and all through the house… hahaha, just kidding) I usually have everything spit-spot.  It’s usually clean and fresh and vaccuumed, with laundry caught up, clean sheets on the bed, showers and baths for everyone in the clean bathtubs, and I usually have a homemade breakfast prepared (yes, the night before) and set on the table for when they all rise.  Their uniforms would be pressed and all parts (shoes and belt!) would be laid neatly on the foots of their beds and their backpacks would be stuffed with a healthy but yummy (homemade, probably) snack and little water bottle for their special day.  Clothes would be ready for everyone else, too, as we always take "first day" pictures.  I go to bed, on time, and sleep soundly knowing that I’m prepared and so are they.  Yes, it has been like that every year for the past 8 years… until now.

————————-

Ok, so I wrote that last night and never finshed it and never posted it.  I suppose you get the point.  My home is chaos.  I think I feel miserable because it’s totally out of control.  Don’t get me wrong, I have known for a LONG time that I wasn’t "in control" as I have realized for years that everything I did was by God’s power and mercy but in the last few months I have realized that maybe He’s just not letting me get it all done.  That for whatever reason (I know, my sanctification) He’s keeping me one step behind and not able to keep up.   In many ways I feel as though I have given up, yet I continue to plod forward and have just not found the joy in doing so.  I’m not sure why but I’m pressing on. 

I used to have my "house in order."  Now I feel like I’m dogpaddling in the ocean.  Just enough to keep my head above water. 

I did get my kids breakfast though, just some scrambled eggs but they were thankful.  All were dressed in clean clothes and I was able to spray out the cowlicks on their heads.  They had a snack in their packs but had to make their own water bottles.  I did not sleep well, but had a night of "striving" in my sleep if you know what I mean.  Just stressful dreams, not restful.   I did get their pictures this morning which was good.  But walking in to my house after dropping them off at school was like a giant "sigh."  I will miss them today, but maybe I can catch up on some school work. 

11 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well, when you figure out what it is that He is trying to teach you, clue me in too. I feel the same way, never caught up. Only I don’t have to get up and out the door every morning (you would NOT want to see my children’s clothing, ect. if I had to do that).
Hang in there sister, and just press into Him.

Comment by Gayle

This is probably not helpful, but I am so glad I’m not the only one.

I was trying to explain the exact things you are talking about to my sister who has one child of 23. She kind of despairs at my house.

I have 3 children, but have forgotten the last time I was really organised. Sometimes it really gets me down, sometimes I go ‘okay go with it’. That can last about half a day.

One of my blogger friends said to take pictures of the house to ‘tackle it’, but I’m too ashamed! 🙂

Comment by Sue

{{{{{{{{{{Kim}}}}}}}}

There are SO many days I can so relate to you! Maybe with the kids in school it will give you a little repreive to catch up at home and also to get some one on one time with Baby Bee 🙂 When will Mr. Grits be done with school?

Comment by Angie

Kim!!! This is me right now, but I homeschool so it’s even WORSE! I have junk piles on my junk piles. I have a walk in closet STUFFED with piles of clothes that have been given to us that I need to sort out. I have shelves and counters of piles of books and notebooks that need sorted and put away. It takes so much every day just to do the laundry, dishes, cleaning, straightening up that there’s nothing left to do the major decluttering and sorting that REALLY needs done.

I wish we lived closer. I would totally be up for a week of decluttering and cleaning at your house if you’d come and help with mine too!!!!

Comment by Kristi

I have felt this way for about 3 months now. And yes, we work at home and homeschool, so it is worse. There is ALWAYS someone home. Drives me crazy.
But it is naptime, I have run a brush through my hair. Some makeup is on my face, lunch is almost done. Sounds good? Well, it’s almost 1pm here. I still have sooo much to do.
Just know you’re not alone in your dog paddling.

Comment by MamaLady

You may not believe this but you will one day remember those days with such joy. With one at college and the other two (17 & 14) at high school, they don’t need my help anymore. And I should not even consider “first day” pics. I could not wait for the day my life got “easier” and now they get themselves up, pick out their clothes, fix their breakfast and load into Alex’s truck and head to school without any assistance from me. I do on occasion cook breakfast but would not even try helping with clothes or hair. I am so jealous!

Comment by Vivian

You may not believe this but you will one day remember those days with such joy. With one at college and the other two (17 & 14) at high school, they don’t need my help anymore. And I should not even consider “first day” pics. I could not wait for the day my life got “easier” and now they get themselves up, pick out their clothes, fix their breakfast and load into Alex’s truck and head to school without any assistance from me. I do on occasion cook breakfast but would not even try helping with clothes or hair. I am so jealous!

Comment by Vivian

I’m so glad I don’t have to do this since we homeschool. I think I’d have a breakdown! LOL! I hope you were able to get your house back in order and rest some! I feel for ya!

Comment by Sonya

Yeah, like the others, I feel the same way. I spent the entire day yesterday cleaning out our laundry room (Yes, it took the whole day), and now it’s the only clean spot in my house. That’s right, only my laundry room is clean. Wierd.

Comment by penny

I guess we could praise God when it gets this bad (and it does for all of us…) HIS strength is perfect…
Praying that it’s getting better!
Love you, Meg

9 And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.
2 Corinthians 12:9-10

Comment by Meg

Yeah, haven’t we all felt like this from time to time (or a LOT of the time??). I just do what I can and let the rest slide…or come up with some way for the kids to help more. Anyway, this will pass soon enough and then you’ll have something else to worry about. Keep your chin up.

Comment by distybug




Leave a Reply

