Reformed Grits


Hope chest
November 5, 2007, 8:33 pm
Filed under: Family

Do any of you have one of these?  I remember my mom had one and I loved to dig through it and look at the wee pink dresses that were being saved for her grandchildren, the newspaper clippings, and miscellaneous jewelry and whatnot.  I looked through my baby book and dreamed of having my own babies one day. 

Upon graduation from high school, my maternal grandparents gave me one of my own that I filled  with picture albums, memory books, and those special baby clothes that were mine now, handed down to me from my mom’s hope chest.  It’s funny now to see the pictures my mom took of me and Mr. Grits newly engaged as we looked through my stash– again,  pre-married and very much before children– as I held up tiny pink baby dresses that now my wee girls have worn.  Just a twinkle in our eyes and a hope in our hearts for the future. 

Over the years I’ve put other things in there– a college diploma, newspaper clippings of now otherwise forgotten events, pictures, pregnancy journals, baby books, and now my kids’ work and test scores from school.  I have a lot of things in there and it barely shuts now.  It’s time to go through things and decide which are most important.   Now, compared to wee babies who grow too fast and capture your heart, many of the things in there will be thrown out without a second look. 

It’s funny how your children change things.  You think you’ll be the same, but you can’t possibly move through the parenting experience without being changed.  You think you would never let your baby cry it out, or that they might need to.  You think you will never take your kids to Walmart in their PJ’s and cowboy boots.  You think you will never yell at your children or do anything in a fit of temper.  (And we wonder where THEY get it!) 

Soon, I’ll sort through this chest of memories, hopes, and dreams and see how I’ve changed– how I’ve turned into someone who really doesn’t care about that piece of candle wax I saved from a banquet 20 years ago or the noisemaker I saved from the New Year’s celebration from Southside.  What will be left are the things I really want to remember and care about. 

As I do this, I’ll be making room too, for new things and memories to come with my family… and now that my babies are growing up, I have a few wee pink dresses that I need to save for my grandchildren. 

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Stephen gave me one the cmas before we got married. It’s cedar, and smells SOO good! I have my high school graduation hat in there, and newspaper clippings. Still have the one of LB when he had that horrible car accident on 65, and i’ve got a bunch of pictures of me and Stephen,and all of our ornaments that we got from people,and birthday cards and wedding cards..and all sorts of stuff! I love it!

Comment by Katester

Iwish I had one to put wee pink dresses in!

Comment by Andrea

funny that I’m reading this at 5am as I’m letting my little one cry it out until her 6am feeding. She is not happy!!!!!
I need to go through my “treasures” as well. I don’t have a hope chest, but I do have a pretty hat box or two filled with memories. Does that count?

Comment by penny

My Granny bought me a cedar hope chest when I was a girl. I put many things in it through the years. When I first married I used it as stand for the tv. It is now at my mom’s house, she rescued it from storage. I planned to pass it to one of my girls, but which one?

Comment by Deidre'

My Granny bought me a cedar hope chest when I was a girl. I put many things in it through the years. When I first married I used it as stand for the tv. It is now at my mom’s house, she rescued it from storage. I planned to pass it to one of my girls, but which one?

Comment by Deidre'




Leave a Reply

