Reformed Grits


Be encouraged
November 29, 2007, 7:29 pm
Filed under: Faith, Life, What's she up to now?

So Caroline calls me today and says "What did you do today?" 
And I got to thinking… What DID I do today? 
I did a little bit– not a lot– of laundry and there’s still a ton to do. 
I did about 20 minutes of sewing and there’s still a ton to do. 
I did a lot of dishes… and they are all done.  (YES!  That’s one for me!)
Hmmm not really a lot else.  It’s sad.  A whole day invested… in what?  UGH. 
Nevertheless I take comfort in Luther…

Our natural reason looks at marriage and turns up its nose and says,
“Alas! Must I rock the baby? Wash its diapers? Make its bed? Smell its
stench? Stay at nights with it? Take care of it when it cries? Heal its
rashes and sores? And on top of that care for my spouse, provide labor
at my trade, take care of this and take care of that? Do this and do
that? And endure this and endure that? Why should I make such a
prisoner of myself?”

What then does Christian faith say to this?
It opens its eyes, looks upon all these insignificant, distasteful and
despised duties in the spirit, and is aware that they are all adorned
with divine approval as with the costliest gold and jewels.

It
says, “O God, I confess I am not worthy to rock that little babe or
wash its diapers, or to be entrusted with the care of a child and its
mother. How is it that I without any merit have come to this
distinction of being certain that I am serving thy creature and thy
most precious will? Oh, how gladly will I do so. Though the duty should
be even more insignificant and despised, neither frost nor heat,
neither drudgery nor labor will distress me for I am certain that it is
thus pleasing in thy sight.

~Martin Luther

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh my….words fail me. I hope you don’t mind, but I’m going to copy that quote and put it on my blog so I can remember it. Thank you for sharing!

Comment by penny

Shame Shame on me…I know I did not spend enough time rocking by babies today!!

Comment by Andrea

Wow..I love that Luther quote 🙂 Thanks for sharing it!! It’s so nice of other Moms to help their fellow-Moms keep (or, regain) the right perspective! Your Blog is always a great read.

Comment by Heidi




Leave a Reply

