Reformed Grits


Vomit, tonsil nuggets, and stitches (Oh my!)
December 11, 2007, 2:54 pm
Filed under: Life

**Warning:  This post is NOT for the faint of heart or the weak of stomach.  I think all things biological are interesting but some of you may want to skip this post and google "happy thoughts" instead. 

I’m sure you are intrigued by my descriptive title as to WHAT could be going on in the Grits’ house this week!  Just last night I was bemoaning to my beloved how I have over-booked this week and feel very stressed out and out of control and such. 
I wake up to a busy day, and the first thing that happened is that Sister, who rarely complains, says, "Mom, in the middle of the night I had a ton of those tonsil thingies (warning– this is gross) and it feels like one is still there."  So I grab a flashlight, peer down her throat, and my curious shock and wonder there is… this… thing.  It looks like a finger-like projectile about 1/4 of an inch long or more sticking straight out of her tonsil, and it’s flesh and the tip is black.   Really heinous looking.  Behind it is a HUGE pit.  I mean, an ENORMOUS black hole type thing probably 1/4-1/2 wide.  I kind of calmly flipped out and decided that a call to the pediatrician was in order.  So I took the kids to school with the message to her that I would be picking her up later that morning to get it checked out.  It isn’t painful at all, but it is very annoying to her.  She didn’t even want to go to school. 
Meanwhile, Bee keeps making this weird throaty noise and quivering.  We just thought she was testing out a new attention-getting scheme, but turns out she was nauseated.  How do I know?  Well, let’s just say I came home from dropping the oldest 5 off at school and had to bathe her and wash all the components of her brand new carseat.  Yep, vomit everywhere.
Oh, and the stitches?  They are annoying JD and he is sad because they irritate him.  Nothing new in the stitch field. 
So I’m flipping out, because I have to call and cancel with my sister-in-law because I was supposed to babysit 2 of her boys today so she could do some Christmas shopping; Bee has puke everywhere; the ped calls back and says they want to see Sister THIS MORNING (not afternoon); and the only person that can babysit Barfing Baby Bee is my 85ish year old granddaddy.   Not a good plan, I’m thinking.  So I call Mr. Grits to come home so I can take Sis to the doctor; meanwhile, I’m showering with Bee and washing the carseat, and throwing back some breakfast along with 2 Midrin and an anaprox because I’m already getting a headache. 
Long story short… The Ped says it’s a growth and has referred us to an ENT to have it removed since it’s annoying.  I don’t believe him, as much as I really do love him and trust him, because quite honestly it wasn’t there last night so I will be eager to hear what the ENT says. 
And just because you want to know, I did attempt a picture of the creature but I don’t think Sister will give me permission to post it.  (Full body quiver– bleah…)
Just pray all is well and that it won’t be a big deal to have it removed. 
Bee seems better this afternoon which is really nice. 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow…that is *really* gross! But even more impressive is that she knew that they were “tonsil things”…poor girl..:(

Comment by Gayle

What a day Kim – I am sure glad you will be totally thrilled to call it a day and curl up in bed..

I think you sent your headaches my way :::::::::::sigh:::::::::: I have had one everyday for the last week and a half with a full blown migraine yesterday… pass me some drugs will ya?

Comment by Angie

wow.
bleah.
ugh.

so sorry!

(does Sister know you posted about this?)

🙂

Comment by Meg

Those throat thingys are yucky!~My mom and I get them from time to time.
I will call her all disgusted and say, “Mom I had one of those nasty throat things today!”…And she will give me moral support.

I would just wait a few days and she will most likely sneeze it out!(Just make sure she catches it!:-0)

I will pray Bee tummy thing doesn’t make its way around the family!

Comment by Andrea




Leave a Reply

