Reformed Grits


Have you ever felt this way?
January 1, 2008, 12:07 am
Filed under: Faith

We are not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful the best will turn out to be.

       

                                                                                                            — C. S. Lewis

I really like C.S. Lewis, not just for his great books but because he realized that life wasn’t a bed of roses, yet God was good anyhow beyond his understanding.   He held to the reality that life isn’t about having enough faith to get what you want, but that by faith we could be content with what was given to us in this life. 
I think I just liked this quote because it fleshes out how I feel sometimes.   I fear pain, but that’s ok because ultimately God is good. 
And I belong to Him, so I’ll be ok. 

Happy New Year, all!

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hmmm…good one.

Comment by caroline

That very quote haunted me for a time. There was a 2 year period in my life that God’s best was very painful…. I had a brother die suddenly, I was divorcing a man who had never been faithful to our marriage, and my mother had been in an accident that threatened to leave her a vegetable. It was then that God showed me that Rom. 8:28 was not a “possibility” but a “promise”.. He was not only ABLE to work all for good, He WOULD work all for good. I can attest that His word is so very true! Thanks for the reminder!

Comment by Sarah

That is often my thought as I travel through the “best” that God has for me. Life, as always, is hard, but in God’s hands, it as always good. The trick is in seeing it from an eternal perspective.
Thanks for the reminder.

Comment by MaryLu




Leave a Reply

