Reformed Grits


Itchy
January 8, 2008, 7:23 am
Filed under: Life, Sewing, What's she up to now?

I have the sewing bug.  It’s the LAST thing I need right now.  I don’t have fundage to be buying cute, cute fabric.  I want to sew for my little girls, but honestly I’m currently itching to actually try to sell some simple dresses.  There are so few dresses that I could actually make to get my "money’s worth" but the pattern I came up with for Bee’s snowman dress is so quick, doesn’t take a ton of fabric, and is CU-UTE!  (If I do say so myself, I mean…). 
Why can’t there be more hours in the day?  Ugh, no seriously, it seems I can’t ever complete a task.  I’m CONSTANTLY cleaning the kitchen.  I’m about to enter my "zone" of gearing up for the crazy season at work, which will be helped by the fact that they are hiring help for me, but I will still have to train which will be time-consuming.  I am looking forward to it because I know they will hire someone I get along with which will make it fun.  But I would love to sit for hours at a time in front of piles of adorable fabric sewing my heart out.  I’m thankful for my "other jobs" ( you know, like laundry, cooking, and educating my children…) so I suppose it boils down to selfishness.  I want to do what I want to do. 
I suppose I just need more love.  I mean, if:

…God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us…  Romans 5:8

I’m sure it’s wasn’t what gave Jesus the warm-fuzzies.   Dying for dead, filthy sinners.  Ew.   But He set aside Himself, out of His boundless love for us, and died for us.  Motivated by love. 

So I pray for more love.  Love for my sweet husband who serves me so selflessly.  Love for my precious children who amaze me everyday.  Love for the opportunities to care and nurture my family.  Love for the life I’ve been given.
Yep.  This is an itch I think, by God’s grace, can be scratched. 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Use some lotion…

haha

This was a joke, people.

Comment by caroline

Wish I knew how to sew beautiful dresses for my girls!!! I’ll try not to envy the ones you make for your girls too much!

Comment by penny




Leave a Reply

