Reformed Grits


We may be on to something
January 24, 2008, 4:49 pm
Filed under: Miracles and other amazing things

It’s about those headaches…
When I first went to the neurologist in August I was having them almost daily.  It was taking over my health and sanity. 
We’ve tried a number of things.   The first may have worked, but made me stupid.  And depressed.  And anxious.   So I begged off as soon as the headaches let up hoping they’d stay away.   
The next 2 months were miserable– filled with lots of headaches and discouragement. 
This time, I started on something that they said "may eventually help…" the same day I started "low-carbing" it.  After the first day of the diet, I have only had one week’s worth of headaches… and you can guess which week of the month that was. 
I don’t know if it’s the meds I’m on (which aren’t "supposed" to have kicked in yet) or if cutting empty carbs out of my diet have helped.  I know I’ve lost 6 of those pounds I gained back.  Just call me the yo-yo diet queen. 
I suppose the idea that being able to have a semblance of "control" over the propensity to have headaches is comforting.  (Gee, that was a lot of big words.)   
But time will tell.  In the meantime, I’m going to actually cook a meal for my family tonight. 
Be impressed. 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Do what? You have gained back your six pounds?

So thankful you have found the key to your headaches…..

Comment by caroline

Wow, I bet that last sentence really upped your “blog readability”…but I dunno…the drop-kicked gerbil below may have countered it.
Where were you last night? Here we were all ready to convert to the Baptist view of eschatology and you were ABSENT! What up?!
By the way, I think it’s the meds. To say it’s the carbs would be awfully sad.

Comment by Gayle




Leave a Reply

