Reformed Grits


And the moral of the story is… (no one is really sure…)
February 9, 2008, 2:00 pm
Filed under: Faith, Family, Life

When we moved into this house a little over 2 years ago, we were told by the previous owners that this house had been the original design of the builder’s.  He, being an amateur, entered a nationwide contest for laymen who had interest in architecture.  As the story goes, he won first prize.   One of the first things that drew me to this house, besides the fact that it fit my family, was the interesting floor plan.  Not just a one-shot-hall ranch-style, no siree.  Now, granted it’s nothing spectacular for sure.  No really huge selling features like giant master baths or garden tubs or ceilings dripping with crown moulding.  It’s even bizarre in a house of this size that the kitchen is the smallest room in the house.  It’s a little confining for someone who loves to cook as much as I do.  In my next house, I will buy for the kitchen; not the bedrooms. 
Another really weird thing is the master bath.  It’s not big which is fine with me– that’d be just more to clean– but the shower I have mentioned before, is freakishly large.  When we looked at the house the lady said, "Even you could put your whole family in there!" 
Ew. 
A good thing he did was to put in a laundry chute.  How handy is that when you have 6 kids?  Remind me to get Mr. Grits to close it off a bit so it won’t be so large that I can climb down, k?  It scares me.  I remember the week we moved in the house and being in that laundry room putting things away and hearing my 2 year old Sugie saying "Hi mommy!" as she peered down the 10 foot drop.  (shiver…) 
But one of the good great things the designer of this house did was put windows on both sides of the house and French doors that yawn wide on the back on to the screened-in porch.  No big deal you say, but on days like today where it’s 64 degrees F outside it’s simply amazing to open the front door, fling open the windows in the kitchen, and stretch out the back doors and get a glorious flow through the house.  It feels like I’m outside with my kids.  But not. 
It’s amazing to do this in February.  I love Alabama. 
But ask me again in August.
All this to say…
Is there such thing as the perfect house?  When 7 of us were crammed in our 3 bedroom house I discontentedly dreamed of a house this big with 5 bedrooms and room to spare–as if that would bring my happiness.   But now it feels too big here and we often dream of switching back to our small, cozy house we had before.  This house I dreamed of didn’t satisfy.  Is anyone really surprised?  I suppose as long as I’m imperfect there will never be a perfect house.  Or maybe the perfect house is the one you are in.  (A la "Love the One You’re With…")  Or maybe the perfect house is one that is PAID FOR…  Or may the only perfect house is my home in heaven and I won’t be satisfied ’til I get there.  Or maybe…
Well, you can pick your own ending. 

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Three things…
1. Yes, Alabama in August, ugh! My DH is from Tuscaloosa, Roll Tide!
2. Laundry chutes are so cool, but not big ones, my older brothers and sisters lived in a house, (before I came along) where they would slide down the chute onto the piles of laundry.
3. The perfect house is one that’s paid for.

Comment by MaryLu

Thanks for the reminder that my teeny-weeny tiny house is perfect for my family! We have only 6 rooms. 3 of those are bedrooms and 1 is a bath. On rainy days I quickly become clauterphobic b/c we have to let the dogs in the kitchen. We then have to close off the kitchen b/c the dogs and our toddler don’t mix well. Which, in my teeny-weeny tiny house leaves me short one room that I desperately need. Sometimes it feels as though the walls are closing in on me. What we lack for in kids, we make up in pets :)!

Comment by Sarah

It sure seems impossible for our sinful hearts to stay content with these earthly blessings ad circumstancs at times…this is sin, but like you said, maybe it is also His constant reminder that nothing here can fully satisfy because this isn’t our home! Thanks for the reminder!!

Comment by Heidi

I have been singing this song since I read your post Saturday night:

Beulah Land

I’m kind of homesick for a country
to which I’ve never been before
no sad goodbyes will there be spoken
and time won’t matter anymore

Beulah Land I’m longing for you,
and someday on thee I’ll stand
There my home shall be eternal.
In Beulah Land, Sweet Beulah land

I’m looking now across that river,
to where my faith will end in sight
Theres just a few more days of labor,
then I will take my heavenly flight

Beulah Land I’m longing for you,
and someday on thee I’ll stand
There my home shall be eternal.
In Beulah Land, Sweet Beulah land
In Beulah Land, Sweet Beulah land

Comment by P




Leave a Reply

