Reformed Grits


At his mercy
March 8, 2008, 5:44 pm
Filed under: Family

Over the last year or so, Mr. Grits has really gotten interested in this whole MMA thing.)  ( The picture  on this link is NO indication of the real thing– it shows a female wrestling which he does not watch.  Ew. )   Anyhow, his "guy time" consists of getting together with buddies and talking about these huge guys who like to beat the crap out of each other.  (Again, I’m sorry if you are offended by the word crap but I think if you are going to hang out here, I’ve decided you need to get used to it.  It’s just appropriate sometimes.) 
Mr. Grits would correct me and say that it’s a skilled art using jiu-jitsu and grappling and something that called a "rear nekked choke" and, well, he probably wouldn’t go in to all that because we really don’t understand.  And I don’t care.
I’m certain any "sport" that uses those terms is not something I’m interested in.  But nevertheless, it’s invaded my home and frequently my oldest two can be found with him discussing the finer art of "arm bars" and "getting them in their guard" and "tapping out."  I think it’s disgusting and I personally question the motives of any man who wants to shave his body, grease up, wear skivvies, and get skin to skin with another man in questionable positions. 
This morning, I had not even gotten out of bed before Mr. Grits began discussing a match later tonight and explaining moves to me.  Words I never thought I’d hear from my beloved are, "I’m sorry I put you in a heel hook." 
My heart is all a’ flutter. 

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Mr. Disty likes that stuff too! It’s really the dumbest sport ever created. They ARE beating the CRAP out of each other…in a fully enclosed cage. Really dumb.

Comment by distybug

Reminds me of that Friends episode with Monica and her rich boyfriend…..oh CRAP, I just admitted to watching Friends…I hope nobody figures out that I was a Friends junky in college!

Comment by penny

What are we doing here…trying to see how many times we can say CRAP in 1 post???

Penn hasn’t been watching that CRAP lately for some reason…I don’t know why, but I’m not complainin’

Comment by Andrea




Leave a Reply

