Reformed Grits


Ok, I need you to PRAY!
March 22, 2008, 9:34 am
Filed under: Life

Next week, I am going with Jojo to a marine science center for 5 days at the coast with his 7th grade class.  I have been looking forward to this for… a long time.  Not only am I going to get to spend some one on one time with my favorite 12 year old, but I get to study science which I LOVE (surprised?  Don’t be!) and I will also not have to do dishes, wash clothes or wipe another person’s behind for FIVE DAYS.  (Do you see the happy tear in the corner of my eye?)
Here’s where the trouble comes in…

If you have been here long enough you know I am a magnet for weird illnesses.  Well, a few years ago, I thought I had developed an allergy in my right eye.  Then I thought it got infected.  So I went to the eye doctor.  They thought it was something like that too.  We did steroids and antibiotics for like a month.  No contacts the whole time.  Did I mention that I am BLIND without my contacts and the only glasses I have are UGLY?  As in bought just from the cheap section because I never wear them but from the bathroom to the bed?  Months later, came back.  This booger has been re-occuring since them.  Finally, another eye doctor looked at it and said it wasn’t an infection– but that my eyes were becoming intolerant to contacts.  As soon as I pop them out I’m fine.  I evidently have like a scaling build-up in my eyelid.  (There’s a pretty picture!)  He gave me a thinner contact and said that was just to buy me time.  I went on my happy way, just happy I could see again without discomfort and green eye goo. 

Until last night. 

I took out my contacts and the ouch stayed.  Now I have a doctor’s appointment in a bit, but all I could lie in bed and fret over in the night is my trip to the coast with my sweet son next week and how it will be screwed up and I won’t be able to see well in my glasses.   They just don’t do the job.  I mean I’m seriously blind, and financially LASIK is not an option at this time. 

So pray for my healing please.  I’ve taken enough of your time with my whining now. 

Enjoy your Resurrection Day weekend.  🙂  More on that later.      

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kim – I can so relate – my eyesight is -8.75 and -9.00 and I went thru a bought that all the contacts they tried on me didn’t feel right. So after 6 months they found one that works and I am afraid if they ever quite working I am sunk 😦 I hate my glasses too – they are like 10 years old. Like I have $200-300 for a new pair of glasses. Lasik would be wonderful but I am not a candidate so I would be looking at a cornea implant ::::::gulp::::

I will pray for your poor eyeballs!

Comment by Angie

I hate not being able to see. I’m pretty blind without mine too, loved my contacts, but sctached my cornea a few years ago and Docs said no contacts for at least a month. Had to buy glasses then and couldn’t afford to go back to contacts. Ugh, hate glasses. HAte not having the better vision I get with contacts.
Praying right now.
Dear Lord, please touch Kim’s eyes and make them well again, allow her to go with her son on this great Science trip and have a wonderful Mom/Son time together.
Allow the Doctors to be able to figure out what it is that is causing the irritation and fix it so that she can see well.
I pray this in your Holy name, Amen.

Comment by MaryLu

I am praying for your eyes!! This is one trip you do NOT want to miss. I loved it~~~and I am sooo not the type person you would think could love this trip! You better go even if you have to suffer and look not so cute in those glasses!
Sugie looked soo cute in her dress this morning!! Whatever on the not being able to sew thing! I noticed my name was left out on the even—could cut out a pattern and sew it! Believe me, I could not even handle a pattern. I’m going to pray now!
Love,
Kent

Comment by kent

I do hope you are on your trip and that your eyes aren’t bothering you too much. I will be praying. You are a magnet!
p.s. the dresses look so cute from the picture. Did they stay together for the day? 🙂

Comment by Meg

Praying for your eyes….I have tried to leave a comment but it wouldn’t let me. Grrr.

I can’t wait for the post about your trip!!

Comment by caroline




Leave a Reply

