Reformed Grits


Purple velvet Knickers
April 11, 2008, 1:49 pm
Filed under: I plead ignorance

I’m not sure where I came up with it, but when I was total geek bait probably in the 5th grade or so, I decided that I HAD to have purple velvet knickers.  You know, like the pants that came to your knees and were poofy.  What the heck?  Where did I see that and what was I thinking? 
I think my mom felt rescued from my obsession by the fact that surely something so ridiculous would never be found in a sensible store so she never had to say, "Don’t be stupid.  Who wears idiotic things like purple velvet knickers?"  thereby scarring me for life.   So she’d say something nice and benign like, "Hm, we will have to see if they have any." 
One day, we were walking through, of all things Parisians,  when glowing in a glorious beam of heavenly light were the most nonsensical pair of purple baby-fine cord knickers you ever saw.  (I figured at this point, they were soft and that was "cool" enough.)  I’m sure my mom cringed and wanted to throw her purse under a rack and swear she left it at home but instead she coughed up money I KNOW she did not want to spend on the most obnoxious things you ever saw. 
I loved those things.  I thought they were the epitome of my fashionista musings and I’d strut my stuff at the basketball games letting the world know that I thought I was It.  Did I mention, I never really had anything to go with the knickers?  I mean, seriously?  Who can think that far ahead when you are trend-setting?  Seems like I pulled up some knee socks and wore some purple Nikes and oh yes, I think I wore my sister’s argyle sweatshirt vest.  I’m sure everyone was looking alright. 
I guess, my point is…
Well, I’ll get back to you.  Sometimes I just feel the need to laugh at myself and that was the first thing that came to mind. 

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Reminds me that I had some plaid cottony pants that ballooned out (“Can’t touch this” MC Hammer style…if you don’t know what I am talking about you are way too young). My mom said later that it made my already big butt look twice it’s size. They were hideous on me. I thought I was IT!

Comment by caroline

Oh I think I may have a picture of this outfit somewhere!! Racking my brain… I’ll have to see if I can find it; you know your loyal readers would love a visual with this story!

This reminds me of the time I just HAD to have the striped leg warmers…

Comment by Meg




Leave a Reply

