Reformed Grits


Laundry challenge **FINAL UPDATE!!!
April 14, 2008, 8:33 am
Filed under: Life

My kids (with maximum prodding, pleading, beatings, weeping, and gnashing of teeth) cleaned their rooms this weekend.  That means I have laundry today. 
Dsc01724

This doesn’t even show the rest of the laundry in the dryer and washer and the PJ’s that Bee pooped after this picture.  (Hey, just keeping it real.)  And the laundry around the corner.  And in the hamper to the left of the picture.

So my goal today is to DO the laundry.  Like, FINISH it.  As in, wash, dry, fold, and put away.  I’m tempted to even fold the kids’ just because I want it done.  Did I mention we have dentist appointments today?

I won’t be back until it’s done.  But I’ll be back with pictures.  I’m not sure what of.  Maybe my laundry room floor.  Linoleum is not exciting.  Unless you have a lot of laundry, then it IS exciting.  I get excited when I see linoleum.  It’s so rare.

Have a good day, and see you on the other side of laundry mountain!

***As of 5PM I have done 7 loads,  chastised 6 whiny children,  attended 5 dentist appointments,  and had 1 cavity (JD.)   I’m back on the laundry which NOW has to be folded and put away, and I have 3 more loads to wash.  At least.  I WILL OVERCOME!  Fortunately, Mr. Grits has class tonight and we ate a late lunch so I will work without interruption if someone will get this computer out of my lap. 

***THE RESULTS–  Ok, a total of 10 loads today.  I really need 2 dryers and a clothesline.  We have recently not only cleaned the lint out of the dryer but totally replaced the hose so I know it’s clean but with a super capacity load it still takes an hour to dry.  So basically, 10 hours of drying today.  Bet we have a super power bill this month!  I need that clothesline!  Or a pulley!  The worst part isn’t the washing and drying, of course, but the sorting and chasing down the children and beating them encouraging them to fold and put away their things.   As I put my wee ones to bed it occurred to me that I had become a mom that I had not expected or thought I would be.  I mean than in the least complimentary way possible.   I felt like a drill sergeant and my kids were miserably sick of me (and vice versa) by the end of the evening.  All over clean clothes and a clean house.  How stupid.  Seems like so often I just let it all go because I detest the battle, but I want better for our family.  I don’t enjoy living in squalor and neither does Mr. Grits… and this is our house.  (As opposed to the children’s house, of course.  Naturally we believe all things that are ours are God’s, but let’s not nitpick over semantics and theology.  I’m really not in the mood.)   

So the laundry is done.  Hooray!

The downstairs is relatively and tolerably clean.  Hooray!

The kids’ rooms are clean.  Hooray!

Their bathroom is clean.  Hooray!

The mood in our house?  Miserable.   

Good job.  Much accomplished for the kingdom today, huh? 

But as my good friend Wendy quoted on her blog today… (Thanks, Wendy for the reminder…)

Lamentations 3:21-23
"Yet
this I call to mind and therefore I have hope; Because of the Lord’s
great love we are not consumed, for His compassions never fail. They
are new every morning; great is thy faithfulness!"

Tomorrow is a new day.  Let’s all go do the next thing.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I feel your pain! Something very similar happened to me over the weekend. I didn’t make it to the bottom of the pile, but I made a serious dent in it. Reduced it from Mount Everest to a foothill, at least! 🙂

Comment by Cindy Swanson

Okay, you just inspired me to get off my rear and tackle my own pile, er, mountain.
Thanks, friend!

Comment by Meg

Oh my gosh! I feel so guilty for complaining of my sweet little “baby” laundry during spring break! You don’t really want to know that my laundry room has 3 baskets and they are all EMPTY- YEA!
(Go ahead….be a little jealous!) Hope you get it all done quickly!

Comment by Wendy

Your in good company today. God help us all.

Comment by Gayle

Story of my life!! And to think I did not know how to operate a washing machine when I got married!! I have to do several loads a day to avoid being overwhelmed. When we get back from trips I just move into the laundry room for 2 days. Good luck!

Comment by kent

Ugh…don’t remind me. Keeping it washed and dried isn’t the problem here…Darlin is supposed to fold all of it and I’m constantly on her about it. Still, I have a constant mountain in my hallway waiting to be folded.

Comment by disty

We are all right there with you!! 🙂

Comment by Amanda

WOW 10 loads in one day…I think I would faint if I had to do that! (My hubby would too if he saw me do that much work in one day)
I was thinking…let’s all wear the same thing everyday for a week and see if that would cut down on laundry.
Hey we’d stink but if everybody was doing it we’d get used to the smell!

Comment by Andrea




Leave a Reply

