Reformed Grits


From Sunday
June 3, 2008, 9:04 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

This past Sunday, our pastor shared a great sermon on James 3– the tongue.  It was SO timely for our family and me personally.  I just LOVE James which he has been going through on Sundays, and as Jeff (our pastor) said, it's probably considered one of the most practical books in the Bible in terms of Christian life. 
However, he did something rare that I thought was great– he shared a "secular" quote that was so very applicable that I emailed him and asked if he'd share it with me so I could keep it.  If you don't mind, I'd like to keep it here.  I hope you will think about this as you ponder your life.  I know I will. 

"It's not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man
stumbled, or when the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs
to the man who is actually in the arena; whose face is marred by dust and sweat
and blood; who strives valiantly; who errs and comes short again and again; who
knows the great enthusiasms, the great devotions and spends himself in a worthy
cause; who at the best, knows in the end the triumph of high achievement; and
who at the worst if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly, so that his
place shall never be with those cold and timid souls who know neither victory or
defeat."

Theodore Roosevelt

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

So cool that you got that quote. I really, really liked it when he read it on Sunday, too.
It is so easy to be an armchair critic of everything and everyone, but all the biting and devouring with eventually destroy the very one who’s doing the criticizing.

Comment by Gayle

Penn and I really enjoyed the sermon live via the web feed. It really resonated for Penn and he couldn’t stop talking about it!

Comment by Andrea




Leave a Reply

