Reformed Grits


Picture diary of my days…
July 7, 2008, 8:36 pm
Filed under: What's she up to now?

It started like this. 

Then it progressed to this:
DSC02572
DSC02574

But then came July 4th and we needed to do some of this:
DSC02550

And eat some of this:
DSC02575 DSC02576
DSC02577

Finally, I was able to do this: (I know it’s dark… but I primed the room… )
DSC02578
DSC02582

The next day… FINALLY we got some paint on!  Notice the transformed light fixtures!  They look better and I had paint in the basement and didn’t even have to buy it!  DSC02585 

AND….
Without further ado, here is the finished product, minus the towel “system” as I’m still searching for what I want, but I’ll post that when I buy it and put it up. 

Drumroll please……

Bdbdbdbdbbdbdbd………

DSC02598
DSC02608
DSC02599

There are still some little touch-ups around the room I need to do but overall I’m VERY pleased with the updated look.  As Jojo said to me, “Hey, it looks like a bathroom in 2008 and not one from the 80’s!” 
I agree! 

Of course I turned around to the “water closet” and still saw this:
DSC02590

And alas, the paper mess in the “Master Bath” looks like this:

DSC02617

Not to mention a week in concentration on the upstairs bathroom resulted in the house looking like this:

DSC02609
DSC02610
DSC02613

Oh well.  Job security, eh? 

13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Kim!! It looks SO good! I spent the weekend of the 4th painting a bathroom too 🙂 I will have to post pictures soon. I am so impressed with the total makeover you did!!

Comment by Heidi

Wow…it looks great!!

I just love it when I finish a room and really like it.

Great job!!

Comment by caroline

Looks great…makes me want to redecorate too!

Did y’all get to see some fireworks on Fri.?

Comment by Andrea

Great work! It looks so peaceful now. What a difference some paint makes.

Comment by Meg

WOW!!!! That looks great!!!! Good job! 🙂

Comment by katester

Job well done! Were those hobbit feet or manicured feet I saw reflected in the shiny new paint job?

I can’t believe somebody caught a fish that big in that lake! That’s awesome.

Comment by distybug

Hey Kim,
It is always fun to start a project but man to get it finished – wow another story. We are going through a similar adventure as we moved in September 2006 and are working through the house. The same problem you are facing – having people living in the rooms that are being tackled – makes things challenging. Good job on completing this task. Was wondering is that paint or just a dark stain you used?

Comment by Graham

Looks great! Your talents never cease to amaze me!! My laundry room pretty much looks like that if I do not tackle it daily! You need to take a break and go to the pool tomorrow afternoon–Amy says so!

Comment by kent

Oooooh, the black turned out great–I really like it! And I also like the paint color with the black cabinets and light fixture. Good job!

Comment by Lori

Oh wow!! The bathroom looks GREAT!! Can’t wait to see how you decide to do the other bathroom! 🙂 LOL!

Comment by Amanda

Hi, Kim, it was very nice to meet all of you girls too. Very fun time & I’m happy to meet some other AL bloggers in person.

OH my! girl, you have got some wallpaper to deal with, but WOW, do I love the transformation of that bath cabinet. I’m a big believer in painting things black & have painted MANY things in my house black or dark brown, including one of my bathroom vanities. Really takes it up a notch & your before & afters are amazing.

Hope you’ll come back by to see me when you need a little more inspiration & I’ll have to come back here too.

Rhoda

Comment by Rhoda

Very nice bathroom makeover!

There’s always job security in my house!

Comment by Tammy

I have one of these projects in my future, too. Yours looks great, but I’m still not motivated to start mine!

Good to meet ya!
Stacey

Comment by Stacey Sickmiller




Leave a Reply

