Reformed Grits


It’s July n’ stuff
July 14, 2008, 6:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yea, I couldn’t think of a title so laugh at me and let’s move on. 

Sorry I haven’t been “around” but I’m on day 4 of a migraine.  It’s been just forever since I had one of these.  Sadly, I have fallen out of favor with neurologist by not ever going back after the joke of me shelling out all the funds for physical therapy.  Actually I think I did go back.  But after each time she just gave me a ton of prescriptions to add on and it got too expensive and I really hated taking all that medicine.  It made me feel bad and I was still getting headaches so I quit going.  Well, that and a lot of other reasons but I won’t bore you with all that.  

I told you all that to say that because I’m not “in” with her, I can’t get her to call anything in to stop this one so I don’t know how long it will last.  It just keeps rebounding.  So I’m not feeling super creative to write.  Sorry. 

But I wanted to share something AMAZING with you that we have been noshing on all summer.  Ok, well I’ve been making it for about a week and a half now.  But it’s good.  And it’s actually good for you!  So make lots and eat it up.  It’s adapted from the recipe of the same name in July 2006 Southern Living, just to suit our family.  (Sadly, there’s not a picture of it on this link because it’s dang gorgeous…)

Corn and Avocado Salsa

12 oz bag of frozen corn kernels
1 T. taco seasoning
1/2 t. pepper
2 T olive oil
1 chopped red bell pepper
1 chopped jalapeno
1/2 c. green onions
1/4 c. (or more if you are like us!) chopped cilantro
1/4 c. fresh lime juice (none of that concentrate stuff)
3/4 t. salt
2 diced avocados

Saute first 3 ingredients in hot oil in a large skillet over medium-high head 6-8 minutes or until corn is slightly golden.  Remove from heat; let cool.
Stire together corn mixture, bell pepper and rest of ingredients.  Cover and chill at least 30 minutes, if you can wait that long.  Eat with tortilla chips (or on tacos, or enchiladas, or on top of homemade refried beans, or just with a spoon if you like…)

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’m so sorry you’re not feeling well. I’ve never had a migraine, but my husband gets them from time to time. He’s just miserable when he has one. Praying you feel better soon!

Comment by Leslie

I am SO making this for my dinner. We each have a meal to make. I am doing a Mexican theme. This will be wonderful with it.

Comment by caroline

Looks good, Kim.
You know what I think? I think you ought to head down to Lakeland. You’ll be all patched up then.

Comment by Gayle W

Oh, not a migrane! Praying that you’ll feel better real soon. Is there a fruit you could eat for that?

🙂

Love you!

Comment by Meg

Feel better soon. I can recommend a great chiropractor!

Comment by Lora Lynn

Wow that sounds good. We love stuff like that. I am sorry you have a migraine–that word makes me shudder!!

Comment by kent

OK, I totally printed out that recipe! I love anything with lime and cilantro…I think hay would be good with a little lime and cilantro…and as a diabetic, avocados are excellent for me. So I AM going to make this!

I’m so sorry about your migraine. I’ve only had a few migraines in my life, but they were enough to make me REALLY empathetic towards people who suffer from them. May you get better soon!

Comment by Cindy Swanson




Leave a Reply

