Reformed Grits


I dare you to try this one…
July 17, 2008, 11:47 am
Filed under: Food and Drink

Ok, I mentioned leeks yesterday and I had never had a leek before I went to Scotland last year.  I’d seen them in the stores but had never bought one. 
Now, it’s a deep love in my life.  Leeks.  Yum. 
A leek tastes like a VERY mild onion.  And because you use the greens, it’s a really healthy veggie!  When preparing leeks, you have to know this is no green onion.  You have to cut off the greens and separate them out because sand lodges in the leaves and they have to be washed separately.  It’s a labor of love.   But before I turn you away from trying it, shall I mention… bacon? 

This is my Americanized adaptation of THIS recipe from the ASDA website which is Walmart’s UK division.  Yeah, I know, I just got a great recipe from Walmart of all places whose produce I wouldn’t touch with a 10 meter pole.  But I like to think I got this recipe from dear Wilma, and when I make it I want to take the whole pan and sit in her little summer house in the back yard, eat it with a fork turned down, and listen to the absence of crickets and frogs chirping at night.  This is comfort food at it’s finest and I think you will agree. 

If you dare! 

Cheesy Potato Bake

2 lbs. scrubbed, red potatoes, sliced thin
1/2 lb bacon, cut in bite sized pieces
2 leeks, thinly sliced (I used one this last time since I was cooking for the kids.  Yes they ate it.)
2 T. olive oil
1 sprig rosemary
6 oz. freshly grated romano (or the gruyere is good if you can afford it!)

Preheat oven to 350. 
Gently boil the potato slices in salted water for 10 minutes.   Drain.
Fry up the bacon and drain on paper towel.  Use a T or so of the bacon grease to wilt the leeks.
Toss the potatoes, leeks, and bacon with the olive oil and rosemary.
Put the mixture in a greased 9×13 pan.
Scatter the cheese over the top and bake for 20 minutes. 
Hide from the family while eating it alone. 
Come and leave me a comment telling me that you are leaving your earthly goods to me. 
The end.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Just got back from the grocery store. Should have read this before. could have bought leeks. Next week…

Comment by Lora Lynn

Yum! I love leeks! I have a great potato leek soup recipe that I’ll give you.

Comment by Tasha

Glad you have finally found them, & FYI they freeze well too! I love them & use them in most things that call for green onions. Green onions are too strong for us & leeks are the just right bite:)

Comment by Terri




Leave a Reply

