Reformed Grits


I’m spent…
September 22, 2008, 8:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Just copying and pasting with a few revisions what I emailed to my cousin tonight about our day:

Jojo didn’t go to
school.  He is still hurting.  His daddy was so upset for him he stayed home from
work with him.  We took him to his ortho today who said he’s to be in a long
cast (almost up to his armpit) for 6-8 weeks.   He told him he can do nothing
but books and sitting and staring… for 6-8 weeks.  Jojo is really down over
it all.  He can’t even hold his Wii remote in his hand!  The dr said that if he
were to re-injure it which would be VERY easy considering his original breaks,
he’d be in the bed for 4 weeks with an external device (think a halo for the
arm) doing nothing.  That, or he could be doing something, fall and injure the
opposite arm and “his daddy would have to follow him to school with a roll of
toilet paper!”  Yikes.  He has a list of close to 100 things he can’t do,
including walk a dog or ride in a golf cart!  It was very thorough.  

My poor boy is so down.  My hubby and I are totally emotionally spent.  I know kids break their arms every day.  We've even had a break with one of the other kids before.  Why do I feel like I've been hit by a train?  I can't even think straight. 

9 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh I am sooooo sorry! I will pray for strength and peace–and a very quick mending!! Just take it one day at a time. I hope they have given him something to get the pain under control. Please let me know if I can help out with the other kids, transporting anyone, etc. praying you all will have a good nights rest.

Comment by Kent

i’m so sorry! i’m praying for a renewed and refreshed spirit for all of you and a quick recovery. get some rest!!

Comment by kimmy

I’m so sorry. Sounds like it was a very bad break under very stressful circumstances. Praying for all of you.

Comment by Lora Lynn

That totally stinks!!! I will pray that the time will pass quickly and that J will find SOMETHING that he can do that will bring him some joy.
I will pray for the mama and daddy too…I know y’all are just beat down about it.
😦

Comment by Andrea

I will pray too! I am so sorry for all of you. Gives new meaning to “Be still and know that I am God.” But here’s an idea – what about a list of all the things he still CAN do? May be longer than what he can’t do! Get the whole family involved! In the midst of the pain and frustration, could it bring a little joy? Hoping all of you will eventually be able to “consider it pure joy…” (Phil. 1:3) Easier said than done.

Comment by Kelly

Awww, Kim. I hate that girl. I am praying for you guys. Wish there was something we could do to cheer Jojo up. 😦

Comment by Gayle @ thewestiecrew

I’m SO sorry. None of my kids ever broke anything…I don’t know how I got through three kids, two of which were boys who played sports and were very active almost from day one…without that happening.

I can totally see why you’re so upset. Back in February, I got my middle finger on my right hand stuck in a garage door, and had to have five stitches and had just a small break in the tip of the finger. I couldn’t believe how much the whole thing traumatized me. One finger! I can’t imagine breaking an arm…or even being the mom of a child who did. Blessings, blessings to you.

Comment by Cindy Swanson

That is horrible! What a night you had at the ER!!

I can’t imagine what he is going through!

I am praying for your sanity and his!

Comment by Jennifer (Mom of Four)

Did he go to St. Vincents? My sweet girl just broke her pinky going into her growth plate in her hand. She just went Friday and I think we may have gotten that same list of things NOT to do! Wow!

Comment by April




Leave a Reply

