Reformed Grits


Pinnacle of Tacky!
September 22, 2008, 8:47 am
Filed under: Travel

Ok so you guys know that I'm weird about mixing American symbols in my religious beliefs, as you may remember.  (Will we ever recover?  Can I just re-iterate that I love my country and we do sing patriotic songs at home and school and I'm grateful for our military and boy do I appreciate my right to bear arms!  There's no place like the US and I say the pledge and I'm grateful for the freedoms we have.  Not only that but I love our church and the music and the people and everybody and when Sam shared his testimony about his work as a Ranger I was in tears and thought it was wonderful and appropriate… (breathing now….) Ok, so anyway…) 

I thought of you all as soon as I saw this in Memphis.  I was driving around looking for a 24 hour pharmacy to get pain meds for my son and that monstrosity was lit up like the 4th of July (pun intended) and I was immediately drawn to it… like a horrific car crash.  I wanted to go back and get a picture of it, but at the time someone had taken all our stuff to their hotel after I just dropped it all and ran to the hospital, and my camera was with it.  Drat.  So this picture by fearlessvk on flickr will have to do.  (Don't know this person; just giving props.) 

Anyhow.  I just… I… I… have no words.  It's just so tacky.  Tacky, tacky, tacky.  No wonder non-believers think Christians are idiots.  They think that "we" think this is "preaching the gospel" or worse yet, God forbid,  art. 

$250,000, my friends.  Wow.  Just had to share. 

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Oh…my…word!!! That is awful! I may not have agreed about the songs in church, but I am with you on this one!!!! Words fail me….yes, definitely tacky!! It’s really just wierd!

Comment by penny




Leave a Reply

