Reformed Grits


In the morning…
September 27, 2008, 11:09 pm
Filed under: Cute kids stuff

10 years ago tomorrow I gave birth to a 9 lb 9 oz baby boy, my 3rd-born child, JD. 

It sounds so simple and tidy when you put it like that, doesn't it. 

I'd tell you the whole story, but it's long and depressing so I'll just sum it up for you:  everything surrounding his birth, before and after, was not simple.  During my pregnancy with him I was extremely depressed.   Like, certifiable.  And I didn't know what was wrong with me– I just thought life was that bad.  I never slept until about 3 or 4 AM even though I was exhausted, and no meds I was given worked for me.   It was so hopeless feeling. 
JD was 12 days late.  I honestly in my insanity, had truly convinced myself that I would be pregnant forever.  I was miserable.  Everything hurt. 
When I finally did go in to labor with him and got to the hospital, they wouldn't give me my epidural until I was already 9 cm.  That is to say, at 9 cm they called for it.  And the first one didn't work and they had to completely do another one.  Strangely I had TIME for all these epidurals because he refused to come down, even after I was 10 cm.   Have I mentioned I'm a wuss?  I don't like pain and freak out when it comes.  Why would they not give me an epidural just because he was high?  Huh?  That makes no sense?  Why?  Why?  WHY?  I screamed at the top of my lungs, calling out for the doctor to HELP ME.  I was totally out of control, for probably about 4 of the 10 or so hours I was in labor.  I cried and screamed and begged my poor husband to help me.  Or kill me.  I didn't care.  I honestly felt very traumatized.  I know:  I'm admittedly a wuss.  I already confessed that.
And then he was born.  He was enormous.  Have you met me?  I'm like 5'3" and, well, I weigh what I weighed in high school– I'm not big.  I was tore up one side and cut up the other.  My doctor's words when he saw JD's head come out were, "This kid has more chins than a Chinese phone book!" 
One more "bad thing" was that when he was 5 weeks old, I got mastitis… and then meningitis.  Two of the three most painful things you could ever get (and I got the 3rd a few years later:  kidney stones.)  I had this (relatively) tiny baby that I had to leave with my in-laws as I sat in a hospital-pumping and dumping– doped up on every kind of painkiller, antibiotic, and even anti-fungals known to man.  (They couldn't tell what kind of meningitis I had.)  Did I mention it was horribly terribly painful?  Worse than kidney stones, I'm thinking, because it's in your head and you can't move and it's horrible.  And you have to have spinal taps.  And MRI's and stuff.  I think– I can't remember.  Did I mention I hate pain?  I'm kind of a baby.  Ok, I know; I said that already.  I feel the need to go suck my thumb after talking about all this. 

But if all that is what it takes to get my JD, I'd SO do it twice or thrice again.  That baby– oh sweet mercy.  He was so lovey and squishy and cuddly and delicious.  Oh my word, he was nummy and wonderful.  A delight and a joy.  He is very different from his brothers– more of a creative type personality.  A people person.  An early talker… and has not stopped.  He is sensitive to what others are thinking and feeling.  His vivid imagination outstripped his maturity when he was younger, making for nightmares, fears of being separated from his parents by death, and night terrors.  (shiver) 

Our JD is at the cusp of being a tweenager– no longer a little boy, but not yet a teen.  I'm so very grateful for him and his yummyness.  He is still lovey and intuitive.  Painful things have hurt him deeply– the loss of a big friend who babied him when he was little; the death of the baby he loved and planned and prayed for; the cancer of the mom of a friend– but I pray that as he matures God uses these things in his life not to make him hard, but to make him even more tender.  He's a very special child, my JD. 

God has some great and amazing plans for you, my child.  Nothing about you has ever been simple or tidy.  Sorrows endure but for the night, but JOY comes in the morning.  Bless you, my squishy lovey son!  And happy, happy birthday.

8 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Happy Birthday to your little man!

Good thing we “forget” the badness childbirth!

Comment by Tammy

Happy Birthday JD!!

Comment by Meg

Happy happy Birthday JD!!!! Double digits is always reason for celebration! Hope you are celebrating Bigtime.

Comment by Kent

Happy, happy birthday, JD!!

Comment by Gayle @ thewestiecrew

Hope you have a great day, JD!! Celebrate!

Comment by distybug

Happy Birthday JD!! I remember your birth story and remember that your mama was the president of the LATE club. She was always the one saying she would probably be late.. yadda yadda yadda… and she was the VERY last one of the group 🙂 Can you believe our kids are ‘double-digits’?

Comment by Angie

Happy Double Digit Birthday Handsome Boy!!!

I’m glad you enjoyed your double chocolate cake!!
🙂

Comment by Andrea

Happy belated birthday!!

What a time you had!! It’s amazing how we come back from that and have more children!! I had hyperemesis gravederium (severe morning sickness) with ALL four of mine and still had four children!!

Comment by Jennifer (Mom of Four)




Leave a Reply

