Reformed Grits


NOT “seeker-friendly”
October 16, 2008, 8:46 pm
Filed under: I plead ignorance

I've mentioned, I believe, that I quit going to the neurologist because she wanted me to come every 4-6 weeks ($40 copay) and every time I would get 2-3 new prescriptions ($30-$100 in copays) to add to my regimen, with little result.  A lot of the time the side-effects made me dopey and depressed.  And like I said, very few results. 

So for months, I've just tried to watch my diet, take calcium and magnesium as well as (Sam's brand) Zyrtec, and I may have reduce my headaches by 20%, tops.  But when you are having headaches 5 days a week, that's something. 

This week I've had a lot of headaches again, and I was down to my last remaining Relpax which is a migraine drug I've used with some success– but my insurance company covered 4 a month.   THANKS for nothing.  I get 20 or more headaches a month.  And I'm not supposed to take medicine for headaches more than 3 days in a row.  (Well what the heck do you want me to do the other days I have a headache, SmartOne?)   So I finally decided to go to my general practitioner so I can just keep up a prescription for the triptipans but I hadn't been there since 2004.  (I told them, "Well, I have had some babies and have been to an ENT and a neurologist but not another GP!)  Anyhow, she said I'd be considered a new patient and the only "new patients" they were taking had to be approved by the dr to see if he thought he could help. 

"So what's the problem," the nurse asked me.

"Well, I have a lot of headaches and I've been seen by all kinds of doctors to try to reduce them but I'm at the point I just want to have something on hand to take when I get them." 

"Ok, well, I'll tell the doctor and let you know!" 

"Did I mention that my husband is a patient there as well?"

"Ok, I'll pass that on!" 

Yes, well, it's been 3 days and I've heard nothing.  Now I realize that I appear to be a drug-seeker.  Wish I had worded some things differently. 

I'm smart that way. 

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Wow, I would have never thought of that, either, girl.

It’s pretty sad when you are just telling the truth, that you are looked at like a junkie.

Comment by Gayle @ thewestiecrew

I’ll call Dr. S and let him know you are legit! I go there so much that he will probably send me a Christmas card this year. 😉

Comment by caroline

I am sorry that the headaches are so bad!

Comment by Meg

Have I mentioned a chiropractor…

Comment by distybug

Sorry you are having so many headaches–you hide it very well! I am so nasty when I am hurting. I live with someone in constant pain–and sometimes he is treated like a junkie too! It cracks me up because I am the one with the addictive personality that had a great doctor who would just prescribe whatever I asked him for. If you need character references-just let us know!

Comment by Kent

ugh! So sorry you are still getting those nasty headaches.
Sometimes when you have seen so many people, you just want to get to the point of the matter, you’d think that the Doc’s would really listen to what you are saying without jumping to conclusions.
Praying for you.

Comment by MaryLu




Leave a Reply

