Reformed Grits


Comin’ up blank
November 30, 2008, 3:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I tried to come up with a snappy post title but that's what I got.  I came up blank. 

That really sums up my absence from the world of Reformed Grits blog lately.  I try but can't seem to pull a word-worthy thought from my head.  I do miss it.  I often think how I miss recording these days of our lives on here so that my children can see and hear and remember one day. 

Bee is potty training.  It's horrible. 

Sugie is reading.  She loves school. 

Poo has said he doesn't like being called that anymore.  He is, after all, 8 now.  I must come up with an 8 year old sounding name for him.   He and JD are no longer in scouts which is sad.  JD is doing drama and will be OZ in the school production of "Oz."  As you can imagine he is very excited. 

Sister is growing up.  She loves being involved with her youth group. 

Jojo got his cast off but is still on physical restrictions through Dec 30th.  Yeah, right.  He says he committed to playing soccer for this year (they have a yearly commitment; not seasonally committed) but doesn't want to play after this year.  I hardly know how to take this.  It's been our life for 9 years.

After this semester in seminary, Mr. Grits has 12 classes left.  He will be taking 3 next semester.  Before we know it our lives will change drastically.  I don't know where I will be living, or what I will be doing or where my kids will be in school.  We could be here for all I know.  I could be in North Dakota too.  I hope not; nothing against North Dakota but I don't think there is enough fuel there to keep this southern girl warm enough in the winter. 

I continue to have lots of headaches.  I'm on day 4.  I have spent the last 3 days in my pj's all day.   2 nights ago, I slept 11 hours.  Last night I slept over 10 hours.  We watched church from home today via internet– with my 4 day headache bender and the fact that half of our kids aren't feeling great we figured that was the best bet. 

I don't mean to sound down or gripey.  I really am thankful for the calm in our lives now.  I know it won't always be this way.  Change is a' comin'.   We have already felt the way God is preparing this new life for us, in the way we respond to criticism from others and the way we view the things we own and the things God gives us.  I'm not so sure that we've ever felt more like pilgrims. 

As we face a new year, we have considered getting a smaller house.  I know you must think I'm crazy but we aren't doing anything yet.  It's just a thought.  We'd probably rent or something because with the uncertainty around not only the economy but the job change in the near future for us (I mean in the next 2 years as the near future!) we thought it'd be nice to be "unentangled."  We are just talking about it. 

For now, I'm lying in my bed with my laptop in my pj's wishing I had a cup of hot tea.  Now, that is something I can take care of… I think I will!

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Smaller house you say? Wanna trade?

Anyway, before you even mentioned it, I could see that y’all are dealing with a huge amount of change. It seems that you are handling it well though.

I, for one, kinda hate the stuff, but I guess it’s better to realize that we are going to face it (and pretty frequently, sometimes) and just accept it as part of God’s perfect plan for our lives….

BTW, the Sweet Potatoes turned out AWESOME! Did you absolutely adore the carrots or what?

Comment by Gayle @ thewestiecrew

Kim, I LOVE reading your blog! You are an amazing writer. I’ll be praying for you, girl! Hang in there!

Comment by Allison

I’m so sorry about your headaches. 😦

Comment by Meg

So sorry about the headaches! I had a migraine last Tues night and a lasting headache into Friday–YUCK! I have had a sinus type headache over the last 2 days–am trying not to panic—I am taking way too many meds and getting some dizzy effects. I DO NOT know how you function with your headaches.
I know what you mean about the smaller house thing–I HATE cleaning and all the clutter we pile up! However, I do NOT want a mortgage payment again. This economy is scary so I think we will sit tight.
Amy is reading too-probably not as well as sugie, but it is fun!
I will pray your headaches let up over the holidays–try a Chai Latte–wish those cured everything and came calorie free!!

Comment by Kent




Leave a Reply

