Reformed Grits


Uncharted territory
January 9, 2009, 6:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

Everyone that knows me that reads here and those that may not know me in real life but read here know I’m pretty much an open book. I’ll embarrass myself 45 times over just to make you laugh, usually. I’ll tell stuff about myself with no boundaries without a second though. My poor sweet husband tries his hardest to get me to have some boundaries and reserve some dignity.
And it’s not just to make you laugh. I’ll tell you my struggles and my thoughts, no matter how disturbing just to have you as a sounding board. To gain your perspective.
I also occasionally vent. I know I can blow steam and not be judged, or if I am, I don’t know about it and that’s ok.

So I find myself in a place I’m not comfortable with… because not only can I not share every detail with you this because of a number of reasons… but for the first time since 1999 Jojo will not be playing soccer from now on. What I can tell you is that the idea of no soccer in my days is killing me. I love soccer. I love watching my SON play soccer. I love riding in the car with him to practice, games, and out of town tournaments and games. Soccer has been all-consuming for us since the child was 4. Our lives and vacations and finances have been figured around soccer. This was a sacrifice and a decision we made willingly– it was worth it. And we loved it.
Now, the families we have grown to love will become stranger; the kids we’ve watched grow will grow into adults we don’t recognize; the jersey will never be replaced and he’ll never have to get the next sized shin guards or cleats.
I’m absolutely lost.

And what’s worse, is that I totally get it that NO ONE understands that I’m absolutely heartbroken. And that’s ok.
When you can’t talk to anyone else, it sure makes you depend on the Lord more and it’s a really good time to do that.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I guess I failed when you called to vent about this. That’s ok. I will fail you many times. Thankful you know where to turn when your friends fail you. 😉

Comment by Caroline

Oh I am so sad for you! It is so hard to let go and move forward when you truly enjoy something so much. You will be in my prayers.

Comment by Kent

Nope, no exactly how you feel! When Clay quit racing motorcycles after 6 years, I was so excited because we could say it was fun, only made 1 hospital trip(everything was fine) and we had alot of family time and great memories! But all of our friends that we traveled with, saw at every race, etc. we would lose contact with them and the kids would grow up and became adults and forget that they had spent many weekends together! Yes I know what you mean but it does get easier and hate to say it but something else will fill that time slot!

Comment by DeeDee ONeal

[…] Uncharted territory […]

Pingback by I’m brave « Reformed Grits




Leave a comment